Knight Of Illumination Awards Shortlist Announced

Photo: Kris Goodman

The judging panel for the Knight of Illumination (KOI) Awards 2016 Concert Touring and Events category has announced its shortlisted designers for next month’s ceremony at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

Led by new Chairperson Coral Cooper, the panel is made up of Deputy Editor of LSi magazine Claire Beeson, Head of Lighting Design at creative agency Imagination Jonny Milmer, LD and experienced video content creator Miguel Ribeiro, and TPi magazine Editor Kelly Murray.

“The incredibly high standard of entries for the KOI Awards Concert Touring and Events category made selecting a shortlist a real challenge,” said Claire Beeson. “It’s been an honour to witness the vast and varied array of work from nominated Lighting Designers and I would like to wish all shortlisted entries the best of luck.”

The Concert Touring and Events shortlist is as follows:

The Ambersphere Solutions Award For Arena: Al Gurdon for Madonna, Tim Routledge for Jeff Lynne’s ELO and Patrick Woodroffe for Adele.

The HSL Award For Club: Francis Clegg for Krept and Konan and Public Service Broadcasting and Tom Webber for Charlie Puth.

The MA Lighting Award For Events: Adam Bassett for The Rolling Stones Exhibitionism, Dave Cohen for Arcadia at Glastonbury Festival and Al Gurdon for The Brit Awards 2016.

The Ayrton Award For Stage: Tobias G. Rylander for The 1975, Rob Sinclair for Pet Shop Boys and Chris ‘Squib’ Swain of Cassius Creative for Years & Years.

The d3 Technologies Award For Video Electronic Content: Luke Halls for Adele, Jamie King with Moment Factory and Veneno Inc. for Madonna and Ben Miles for Coldplay.

“My first year as Chairperson of Concert Touring and Events for KOI has been really exciting,” said Coral Cooper. “It’s great to get the inside view on the process and to bring some new ideas for next year. Roll on September!”

The Knight of Illumination Awards, originally conceived by Clay Paky, is organised by LD Durham Marenghi and his partner Jennie as well as the Association of Lighting Designers (ALD), the Society of Television Lighting and Design (STLD) and content creation, communications and events agency The Fifth Estate.

The headline sponsors of this year’s edition are Clay Paky and OSRAM. The awards are also supported by the following spotlight sponsors: Ambersphere Solutions, Ayrton, d3 Technologies, Elation Professional, ETC, FIX8Group, Hawthorn, HSL, Light Initiative, MA Lighting, Philips Vari-Lite, PLASA, PRG XL Video, Robert Juliat, SGM and VER Aurora TV.

Winners in the Concert Touring and Events category will be announced at the ceremony and awards dinner on Sunday 18 September.